After persistent reminders, the users will encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until they accept the updates.
This limited functionality means that first users will only lose access to the chat list but they would be able to answer incoming calls and can reply to messages also. But after a few weeks, WhatsApp will stop sending messages further making more restrictions. Technically speaking, this still doesn’t mean that WhatsApp will delete a user account. However, it does make it inactive.
However, the scenario with the WhatsApp Business account is different as any communication we do with that account will be shared with the company and it can be further used for targeting ads on other Facebook-owned platforms, which is self-explanatory that the privacy is compromised. Even, your activity with WhatsApp Shops might get shared on other platforms.
“The updates related to optional business features are a part of our broader efforts to make communicating with a business secure, better and easier for everyone,” the company had said in a statement.
Challenging the new privacy policies by WhatsApp in High Court, Dr. Seema Singh, Meghan, and Vikram Singh had filed a Public Interest Litigation( PIL) that further asked for the messaging app to either roll back the new policy or give an option to opt-out of it.
Zee News App: Read latest news of India and world, bollywood news, business updates, cricket scores, etc. Download the Zee news app now to keep up with daily breaking news and live news event coverage.
Source: Zee News