Press "Enter" to skip to content

Virat Kohli named captain of Australia's T20 Team of the Year; Shahid Afridi also included

Melbourne: Accolades continue to pour for in for India’s dynamic Test captain Virat Kohli, who has been named as captain of Cricket Australia’s One-day team of the year ahead of Steve Smith. 

Kohli is joined in the side by his Royal Challengers Bangalore teammate AB de Villiers and compatriot Jasprit Bumrah.

Earlier, the International Cricket Council had named India’s young Test captain as the skipper of the world team of the year, 2016.

Australian batsman David Warner, who led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their first IPL title in 2016 was selected to partner England’s Jason Roy as an opener. England’s explosive wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler was handed over the keeper slot. 

West Indies’ Andre Russel and South Africa’s Farhaan Behardien and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi are selected as all-rounders.

Cricket Australia’s ODI Team of Year: Virat Kohli, David Warner, Quinton de Kock, Steve Smith, Babar Azam, Mitchell Marsh, Jos Buttler, Jasprit Bumrah, Imran Tahir.

Source: Zee News