Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ind vs Aus: Virat Kohli did something in Australia which even Sachin Tendulkar couldn't, says Sourav Ganguly

New Delhi: Former Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly was full of praise for current Indian captain Virat Kohli, saying his record against Australia Down Under is a tremendous – something which even the legendary Sachin Tendulkar could not match up with.

Kohli, who recently suffered a 333-run loss against Steve Smith’s men in 1st Test, won massive praise from the cricket congnoscenti after he slammed four centuries when India toured Australia last time around.

Speaking to India Today TV channel, Ganguly said, “To watch those four Test match hundreds against Australia, I have not seen even the great Sachin Tendulkar do that.”

Kohli, who was on a 19-match unbeaten streak in the five-day format, had a forgettable Test in Pune, where he also registered his first duck on home soil. Mitchell Starc dismissed him in the first innings while Steve O’Keefe, Australia’s hero with the ball at Pune, bowled him in the second innings off a straight ball.

Throwing his weight behind Kohli, Ganguly said that he had to fail one day being human.

“Kohli is human and he had to fail one day. He failed in both innings in Pune. I think he played a little bit of a loose shot in the first innings outside the off stump but the Australians bowled him there,” Dada added.

India’s star-studded batting line-up was dismantled by O’Keefe, who bagged 12 wickets at Pune and conceded just 70 runs.

While India are expected to make a couple of changes for the next match, the Aussies are likely to stick with their winning side.

The third and fourth Tests of the series will be in Ranchi and Dharamsala.


India: Virat Kohli (capt), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Hardik Pandya.

Australia: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve O`Keefe, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade.

Source: Zee News