Press "Enter" to skip to content

LIVE: India vs England, 3rd T20I at Bangalore — Raina special gives hosts dream start


Over 11 || Score 84/2 (Suresh Raina 47; MS Dhoni 5)

One tidy over from Moeen Ali. Only six runs from it – four singles and a double.

India scored 31 runs, losing one wicket, in the last five overs. Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni have added 19 in 3.4 overs.

Over 10 || Score 78/2 (Suresh Raina 43; MS Dhoni 3)

Half-way through in the India innings.

Eight runs from Adil Rashid’s first over. After two singles, Suresh Raina hit a four, guided pass the third man.

Over 9 || Score 70/2 (Suresh Raina 36; MS Dhoni 2)

Poor umpiring continues. That wicket of KL Rahul was off an illegal delivery. Ben Stokes clearly over-stepped, and no one noticed. Not even the mandatory checking.

Another good over for England. Three runs from Moeen Ali’s second over.

Over 8 || Score 67/2 (Suresh Raina 34; MS Dhoni 1)

A wicket and scoring rate slowed down. Ben Stokes bowled KL Rahul with a slow, straight delivery.

WICKET: KL Rahul b Ben Stokes 22 (18b)

That happened off the second ball of the over. MS Dhoni is the new man.

Three runs and a wicket from the over.

Over 7 || Score 64/1 (KL Rahul 22; Suresh Raina 32)

11 runs from the over as Moeen Ali got a special treatment from Lokesh Rahul. The Indian opener hit him for a huge six. New ball summoned.

Over 6 || Score 53/1 (KL Rahul 13; Suresh Raina 30)

Then came a 14-run over, with Suresh Raina toying with Chris Jordan. Two sixes off the second and fifth balls respectively.

The first one sailed just over the deep mid-wicket fielder Ben Stokes, and the second was a bigger one, over long leg.

Over 5 || Score 39/1 (KL Rahul 13; Suresh Raina 17)

Bowling change for England, but runs continue to leak for the visitors. Ben Stokes conceded 10 runs in his first over, which also included two wide deliveries.

But the only shot of note was a four, off the fifth ball, by Suresh Raina through backward point area.

Over 4 || Score 29/1 (KL Rahul 12; Suresh Raina 10)

Another good one for India. 12 runs from Liam Plunkett’s first over. KL Rahul hit the firs two balls for fours, and three singles followed. There was a leg bye, off the last ball.

Over 3 || Score 17/1 (KL Rahul 2; Suresh Raina 9)

Good over for India. Nine runs from it as Suresh Raina hit the last ball of the over for a six.

Tymal Mills pitched it up, and he paid the price. Raina played inside out and the ball flew over cover boundary.

Over 2 || Score 8/1 (KL Rahul 1; Suresh Raina 2)

Never a run, and he blamed Lokesh Rahul. Not a good sight! Virat Kohli trapped in front, and a huge shout for LBW. He then dashed off for a single, without looking at his partner. But Chris Jordan, the bowler was there, and he effected the run out.

WICKET: Virat Kohli run out 2 (4b)

That happened off the first ball of the over. Suresh Raina joined Rahul in the centre.

Eight runs and a wicket from the over.

Over 1 || Score 4/0 (Virat Kohli 2; KL Rahul 1)

Virat Kohli faced the first ball from left-arm seamer Tymal Mills. On the off stump, and Kohli blocked it. It was followed by a wide, down the leg side. A single followed, before Lokesh Rahul blocked two balls.

A single off the fifth ball, and then another quick single. Four runs from the over.

And all important match officials:

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary and Chettithody Shamshuddin
TV Umpire: Nitin Menon
Match Referee: Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)
Reserve Umpire: CK Nandan

Team news: One changes each. England brought in Liam Plunkett for Liam Dawson. Rishab Pant makes debut, in for Manish Pandey.

India XI: Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt.), Rishabh Pant, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (w), Hardik Pandya, Amit Mishra, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

England XI: Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt.), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (w), Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills

Big day for Rishab Pant. The young batsman just got his India cap, and will make his debut today. Former India wicket-keeper Syed Saba Karim handed him the cap.

Bangalore: Virat Kohli-led India are up against England in the third match of the ongoing T20I series to be played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. The third match is like a final, after Men in Blue registered a series-leveling win against Eoin Morgan’s men at Nagpur. (India vs EnglandFull Coverage)

Kohli would want his boys to put a good performance with the bat, after a forgettable show in the last two matches. The visitors will be very upset with the way they lost the second T20I from a winning position.

England needed 32 runs in the last four overs with seven wickets remaining. But India won the match as a result of some brilliant death over bowling by Ashish Nehra and Jasprit Bumrah, with the latter defending eight runs off the final over.

While the form of most of the batsmen would be India’s major concern, Morgan would want his men to hold their nerves under pressure.

Here is everything you need to know about today’s match:


INDIA: Virat Kohli (c), Lokesh Rahul, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey/Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Amit Mishra, Yuzvendra Chahal

ENGLAND: Sam Billings, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Tymal Mills

TV listing: Star Sports 1, Star Sports HD 1 — ENGLISH; Star Sports 3, Star Sports HD 3 — HINDI

Live streaming: Hotstar

Date: February 1, 2017 (Wednesday)

Time: 19:00 PM IST

Venue: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Source: Zee News