Press "Enter" to skip to content

Virat Kohli leads Lord's Cricket Ground list of top 20 players of 2016

New Delhi: After the release of ICC and Cricket Australia’s list of best players of 2016, Lord’s Cricket Ground have followed the trend and selected top 20 players for this calendar year.

The official YouTube channel of Lord’s posted a minute long video for each player, highlighting their respective performances for the calendar year.

Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli bagged was honored with No. 1 spot after experiencing a sensational run in 2016 across all the formats of the game.

Virat brought an end to his perfect year with Player of the Series award in the recently concluded Test series with England.

Englishman Jonny Bairstow followed the Indian Test captain while ICC No.1 Test bowler Ravichandran Ashwin came in third ahead of Sri Lankan spin wizard Rangana Herath.

Another English star, Chris Woakes came in 5th ahead of South African fast-bowling prodigy Kagiso Rabada, Joe Root and Quinton de Kock.

Australian speedster Michell Starc was placed 9th ahead of Ben Stokes and Pakistan Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. David Warner, meanwhile, was 12th ahead of Indian middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane, Australian captain Steve Smith, Yasir Shah and Marlon Samuels.

Sri Lankan Kusal Mendis came in 17th ahead of Cheteshwar Pujara, Imran Tahir and Shakib Al Hasan.

Here’s how the list goes:-

1. Virat Kohli

2. Jonny Bairstow

3. Ravichandran Ashwin

4. Rangana Herath

5. Chris Woakes

6. Kagiso Rabada

7. Joe Root

8. Quinton de Kock

9. Mitchell Starc

10. Ben Stokes

11. Misbah-ul-Haq

12. David Warner

13. Ajinkya Rahane

14. Steve Smith

15. Yasir Shah

16. Marlon Samuels

17. Kusal Mendis

18. Cheteshwar Pujara

19. Imran Tahir

20. Shakib Al Hasan.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was one of the surprise exclusions from the list despite being named by ICC its Test team of the year 2016.

Source: Zee News