Press "Enter" to skip to content

AAP releases list of all candidates for Delhi assembly polls, Kejriwal to contest from New Delhi

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday announced the list of candidates for all 70 seats for the upcoming assembly elections. 

Among its key candidates, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest from his current constituency of New Delhi while his deputy Manish Sisodia will again contest from Patparganj. 

AAP’s Lok Sabha candidates Dilip Pandey, Atishi and Raghav Chadha have been fielded from Timarpur, Kalkaji and Rajinder Nagar, respectively. 

Delhi Assembly elections will be held on February 8 while counting of votes will be conducted on February 11. 

The ruling AAP is locked in a triangular contest with the BJP and the Congress but is favourite to retain the Union Territory. 

“The Political Affairs Committee (PAC) of the Aam Aadmi Party met today to discuss the list of candidates of the Aam Aadmi Party for the Delhi Assembly election to be held on February 8 2020,” the party said in a state. 

Here is the full list of AAP candidates:

Important Announcement :

Aam Aadmi Party declares all 70 candidates for the upcoming Delhi election.

We congratulate all the candidates and wish them all the best to establish high levels of trust and integrity within their constituency.#AAPKeCandidates

— AAP (@AamAadmiParty) January 14, 2020

Five-time MLA and ex-deputy speaker of Delhi Vidhan Sabha Shoaib Iqbal, who joined the AAP only last week, will contest from Matia Mahal seat. Iqbal was elected from Matia Mahal for five consecutive terms before losing to AAP’s Asim Ahmed Khan in 2015. Khan was made a minister in the AAP government in 2015 but was forced to quit after over corruption charges. 

The Kejriwal-led AAP had won 67 seats in the 70-member assembly in 2015 assembly elections, defying all expectations. While the party hopes to repeat its performance.