Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha elections 2019 live updates| Congress chief Rahul Gandhi to address press…

Congress national president Rahul Gandhi will address a press conference at the party headquarters in Delhi on Friday. Both the Congress and BJP have Central Election Committee (CEC) meetings scheduled for today.

The Congress is likely to release the list of candidates contesting Lok Sabha elections 2019 from Karnataka today. The BJP election panel has called another meeting to discuss the pending names from different states and make a formal announcement.

The Bharatiya Janata Party had released its first list of 184 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections that will begin from April 11 and end on May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. The list was announced by Union health minister JP Nadda.

Follow live updates here:

9:28 am IST

BJP announces names of 10 Lok Sabha candidates, 100 assembly nominees in Odisha

The BJP has announced its candidates for ten of the 21 Lok Sabha seats and 100 of the 147 assembly constituencies rewarding deserters like former BJD lawmakers Baijayant Panda and Balabhadra Majhi and BJD MLAs Prakash Behera, Damodar Rout and K Narayan Rao.

But the Bharatiya Janata Party is yet to declare the names of candidates for Kalahandi and Koraput Lok Sabha seats, which will go to polls in the first phase on April 11 along with Nabarangpur and Berhampur.

Voting in Odisha will be held in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29 simultaneously for parliamentary and assembly constituencies. The results will be declared on May 23. The BJP had won one Lok Sabha seat and ten assembly seats in Odisha in the last elections.

9:20 am IST

AMMK releases 2nd list

TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) on Friday released its second list of 9 candidates contesting Lok Sabha elections from Tamil Nadu .

9:00 am IST

Rahul Gandhi to address press conference at 10: 15 am

Ahead of Lok Sabha elections 2019, Congress national president Rahul Gandhi will today address a press conference at the party headquarters in Delhi .

Source: HindustanTimes