Press "Enter" to skip to content

‘BJP denying tickets to MPs shows failure, apply same to captain’: Akhilesh Yad…

Samajwadi Party (SP) president Akhilesh Yadav on Wednesday took a jibe at BJP for not giving Lok Sabha election tickets to several sitting members of Parliament.

“Why is the ruling party not giving tickets to most of its MPs again? It means they have failed,” Akhilesh said in a tweet.

Targeting Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he said, “The formula applied to the team should also apply to the captain.”

‘विकास’ पूछ रहा है… सत्ताधारी दल अपने अधिकांश सांसदों को फिर से टिकट क्यों नहीं दे रहा है? इसका मतलब उन्होंने मान ही लिया है कि वो फ़ेल हो चुके हैं. ये फ़ार्मूला टीम पर ही नहीं कप्तान पर भी लागू होना चाहिए.#VikasPoochhRahaHai#MahaParivartan

— Akhilesh Yadav (@yadavakhilesh)

March 20, 2019

The BJP has not released any list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. It is likely to announce the names of party’s candidates in various states for the elections on Wednesday.

The central election committee (CEC) of the party had met under the leadership of Modi and BJP president Amit Shah a day earlier.

According to sources, the party is likely to drop all sitting MPs from Chhattisgarh and field new candidates.

The ruling party has stitched up alliances in several states, especially Tamil Nadu and Bihar, hoping to come back to power.

Akhilesh Yadav’s SP has made an alliance pact with Mayawati’s BSP and Ajit Singh’s RLD for the polls.

Under the seat-sharing formula, the BSP will contest 38 seats, SP 37 seats and RLD 3 seats from Uttar Pradesh. The alliance had left two seats for Congress, but the grand old party is contesting on its own on in 73 seats in the state.

The SP-BSP alliance would contest all the 48 seats in Maharashtra in a bid to stop the BJP from winning a majority.

First Published:
Mar 20, 2019 10:28 IST

Source: HindustanTimes