Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: All about Murshidabad seat in West Bengal

Badaruddoza Khan of the CPI(M) had beaten the sitting member of Parliament and Congress leader Abdul Mannan Hossain in the Lok Sabha election in 2014 in West Bengal’s Murshidabad parliamentary constituency.

Abdul Mannan Hossain had ended the five-year winning streak of the Communist Party of India(Marxist) in 2004, when he won from Murshidabad parliamentary constituency for the first time. Hossain had defeated Moinul Hassan of the CPI(M), who was elected twice from the seat.

Voting in Murshidabad general seat will be held during the third of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election on April 23. The result will be declared on May 23.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Here are some facts about Murshidabad:

State: West Bengal

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Murshidabad

Sitting MP, party: Badaruddoza Khan, CPI(M)

Winning margin in 2014: 184,53

Runner up name, party: Abdul Mannan Hossain, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,287,763

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 85.16%

Number of women voters in 2014: 729,812

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,897

First Published:
Mar 19, 2019 17:50 IST

Source: HindustanTimes