Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Bengal Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury is eyeing…

Once under the Revolutionary Socialist Party’s hold, Baharampur parliamentary constituency is one of West Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha seats formed in 1951.

The Congress’ chief of the Bengal unit Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has held the Baharampur Lok Sabha seat since 1999 when he defeated Promothes Mukherjee of the RSP.

A general seat, Baharampur will see Trinamool Congress’ Apurba Biswas trying his luck from Baharampur against Chowdhury, who is eyeing a fifth straight term.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Baharampur will vote on April 29 during the fourth of the seven-phased Lok Sabha election 2019. The votes will be counted on May 23.

Here are some facts about Baharampore Lok Sabha seat:

State: West Bengal

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Baharampur

Sitting MP, party: Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Congress

Winning margin in 2014: 356,567

Runner up name, party: Indranil Sen, Trinamool Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 1,154,587

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 79.42%

Number of women voters in 2014: 700,840

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,835

First Published:
Mar 19, 2019 17:46 IST

Source: HindustanTimes