Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Mumbai North Central constituency in Maharashtra never…

Mumbai North Central, an urban seat, witnessed a high-profile contest in 2014 Lok Sabha elections between Priya Dutt of the Congress and Poonam Mahajan of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Mahajan defeated the 2009 election winner with a margin of 1.8 lakh votes.

In fact, the voters of this constituency have never picked the same party since 1980.

In the past, the constituency has been represented by Pramila Dandavate of the Janata Party, Ramdas Athwale of the RPI and Manohar Joshi of the Shiv Sena.

READ: All about Lok Sabha elections 2019

Maharashtra’s 48 constituencies will vote to elect members to the Lok Sabha in four phases on April 11,18, 23 and 29.

Here’s all you need to know about Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha constituency:

State : Maharashtra

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Mumbai North Central

Sitting MP, Party: Poonam Mahajan, BJP

Winning margin: 186,771

Runner up name, party: Priya Dutt, Congress

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,725

Number of voters in 2014: 845,455

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77%

Number of women voters: 373,027

First Published:
Mar 19, 2019 17:15 IST

Source: HindustanTimes