Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Madan Lal Khurana, Sushma Swaraj have won from South…

The South Delhi parliamentary constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha seats in the national capital of Delhi.

The general seat has been held by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the most number of times and senior leaders Madan Lal Khurana, Sushma Swaraj and Vijay Kumar Malhotra have won in the past.

But in 2009, the Congress party won this seat after delimitation. And, in the next general election in 2014, BJP leader Ramesh Bidhuri defeated Colonel Devinder Sehrawat of the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). The BJP had won all the seven seats that year in Delhi, which is set for a three-way contest this year with the AAP and the Congress failing to form an alliance to take on the BJP.

South Delhi will vote on May 12 in the sixth phase of the general election. The results of the seven-round Lok Sabha election 2019 will be declared on May 23.

State: Delhi

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: South Delhi

Sitting MP, party: Ramesh Bidhuri, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 1,07,000

Runner up name, party: Col Devinder Sehrawat, AAP

Number of voters in 2014: 11,02,410

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 62.90%

Number of women voters in 2014: 7,47,452

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,680

First Published:
Mar 17, 2019 13:44 IST

Source: HindustanTimes