Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Smallest constituency Lakshadweep was once a Congress…

The Union territory of Lakshadweep is represented by a single parliamentary constituency, which is reserved for members of Scheduled Tribes.

Mohammed Faizal PP of the Nationalist Congress Party is the current member of Parliament from this constituency, which had been a Congress bastion. He had defeated veteran Congress leader PM Sayeed’s son Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Hamdulla had won the seat in 2009.

Its first MP was Congress’ K Nalla Koya Thangal, who was directly appointed by the President. Thangal served two terms from 1957 till 1967, when the first election was held.

Read all you need to know about Lakshadweep

PM Sayeed has represented Lakshadweep for ten consecutive terms from 1967 to 2004. He won the first election in 1967 as an Independent.

In 1971, Sayeed was elected unopposed as a Congress candidate. He won the next eight elections consecutively before being defeated by 71 votes in 2004 by P Pookunhi Koya of the Janata Dal(United).

It will vote on April 11 and results will be declared on May 23.

Here is what you need to know about Lakshadweep, the smallest constituency by the number of voters as of 2014:

Union territory of Lakshadweep

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Lakshadweep

Sitting MP, party: Mohammed Faizal PP, NCP

Winning margin in 2014: 1,535

Runner up name, party: Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 43,239

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 86.61%

Number of women voters in 2014: 24,489

Number of polling booths in 2014: 44

First Published:
Mar 17, 2019 13:34 IST

Source: HindustanTimes