Press "Enter" to skip to content

Lok Sabha election 2019: Vadodara seat remains key for BJP in Gujarat

The Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency was one of the most high-profile parliamentary seats in 2014 general elections. Then Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi contested from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat as Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate.

PM Modi had defeated Madhusudan Mistry of the Congress by a margin of over 5.70 lakh votes. It was the second seat from which PM Modi had filed nomination in 2014 Lok Sabha election. The other was Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, which he retained after winning from both the constituencies.

In the bypoll held after PM Modi vacated the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, BJP’s Ranjanben Bhatt won. The BJP had won this seat in 2009 Lok Sabha election also.

Vadodara parliamentary constituency comprises of seven Gujarat assembly segments. These are Savli, Vaghodia, Vadodara, Sayajigunj, Akota, Raopura and Manjalpur.

Vadodara is one of the most developed districts of Gujarat. It was the seat of governance of erstwhile Baroda princely state, which laid the foundation for development of the city on the modern lines.

Vadodara Lok Sabha Constituency: Key Facts

Total number of voters in 2014: 1,162,168

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 80 per cent

Sitting MP, Party: Ranjanben Dhananjay Bhatt (won bypoll)

Votes polled by winning candidate in 2014: 8.45,464

Percentage of votes polled by winning candidate: 73 per cent

Winning margin in 2014: 5,70,128

Runner up name, party: Indian National Congress

Name of runner-up candidate in 2014: Madhusudan Mistry

Votes polled by runner-up in 2014: 2,75,336

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,591

Number of women voters: 5,36,532

First Published:
Mar 14, 2019 10:31 IST

Source: HindustanTimes