Press "Enter" to skip to content

Punjab polls: Bhim Tank murder accused Shiv Lal Doda among candidates filing nominations

29 more candidates filed their nominations in Punjab and Goa for the February 4 Assembly polls on Friday, including Shiv Lal Doda, who is lodged in Fazilka sub jail in connection with last year’s murder of Dalit youth Bhim Tank. Doda filed his nomination as an Independent candidate from Abohar.

In Punjab, 21 candidates including Aam Aadmi Party spokesman Sukhpal Singh Khera filed their nomination papers, raising the total number of nominees to do so to 51. Friday was the third day of filing of papers. Khera, a former Congressman, filed his papers from his traditional seat Bholath.

Ruling Shiromani Akali Dal’s candidate Darshan Singh filed his papers from Gill (reserve) seat, while his party colleague Joginder Singh Jindu filed his papers for Ferozepur rural (reserve) seat.

Among others who filed their nomination papers were Tarsem Singh (BSP) from Amritsar east seat, Rajesh Garg of Apna Punjab Party (APP) from Muktsar, Kulbir Singh (Cong) from Zira and Jasbir Singh (BSP) from Sardoolgarh seat.

No nomination was filed for Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, by- poll to which was necessitated following the resignation of sitting MP and Punjab Congress chief Amarinder Singh.

Assembly polls and by-poll to Amritsar Lok Sabha seat in Punjab will be held on February 4.

Candidates can file their nomination papers until January 18 while scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on January 19. Withdrawal of candidature can be done until January 21 and counting of votes will take place on March 11.

Punjab will witness a three-way fight between the SAD, AAP and Congress in all 117 seats. While Congress is going it alone on all seats, ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and its ally BJP will contest on 94 and 23 seats respectively.

A new entrant to Punjab Assembly elections, AAP has fielded candidates for 110 seats and its ally Lok Insaaf Party (LIP) on seven.

In Goa, eight candidates, including five from the BJP, filed their nomination papers on Friday.

They included Siddharth Kuncolienkar (Panaji), Damodar Naik (Fatorda), Kiran Kandolkar (Thivim), Dattaprasad Naik (Taleigao) and Pandurang Madkaikar (Cumbharjua), all from BJP. Kuncolienkar and Kandolkar are sitting MLAs of BJP while Madkaikar had recently quit Congress to join the saffron party. Madkaikar had won from Cumbharjua on Congress ticket in the 2012 Assembly polls. Rebel BJP leader Krishna Daji Salkar, vying for party ticket in Vasco constituency, filed his nomination as an Independent. Salkar had quit BJP this week after the party announced candidature of sitting MLA Carlose Almeida for Vasco seat.

AAP nominees Molu Velip (Shiroda) and Santosh Raiturkar (Margao) also filed their nomination papers.

With this, the total number of nominations filed went up to 10 as Congress’ Digambar Kamat (Margao) and AAP’s Elvis Gomes (Cuncolim) had filed their nominations earlier.